The Color of Sunshine

Through her original script and storyline, Clark University Players Society Co-President Toni Armstrong creates a simple but beautiful tale of love, understanding, and experience, all with a touch of color.

The Color of Sunshine

Toni Armstrong

 

VERA lounges on a comfortable red chaise couch, playing with balls of multicolored yarn.  She is not knitting, but might be braiding or finger-knitting or knotting the yarn.  She is a woman of respectable age, and wears a long robe or nightgown. She is fidgety, can’t maintain eye contact, or look at one place for any length of time.

CHARLIE enters.  He matches VERA in age, and wears simple neutral colors. He hangs his coat by the door he enters from, and joins VERA on a chair across from her.

 
VERA
You’re looking very red today.

CHARLIE
What shade of red?

VERA
Oh, a darling one.

CHARLIE
Is it the color of the couch?

VERA
No, no, you know the couch is colored like an old potato.

CHARLIE
Of course.

VERA
Don’t sound so cross, I’ve told you this a thousand seventeen times.

CHARLIE
If not more.

VERA
Definitely not more.

CHARLIE
Am I red like your lips?

VERA
No, no, my lips are colored like kisses.

CHARLIE
Kisses like this?

(CHARLIE kisses her, she grins at him.)

VERA
I’m not sure, kiss me again and I’ll tell you.

(He kisses her again.)

CHARLIE
Well?

VERA
My lips aren’t red like those kisses.

CHARLIE
What color were they?

VERA
Burnt orange.

CHARLIE
Mmm.

VERA
Orange that’s been left simmering over heat for too long and has just begun to tinge.

CHARLIE
Like an orange marshmallow.

VERA
Like an orange marshmallow.

CHARLIE
So I am not red like this couch, or your lips.

VERA
No, you’re a darling red.

CHARLIE
Like the carpet in the other room?

VERA
The carpet is colored like pop rocks in my mouth.

CHARLIE
Mmm. I guess so.

VERA
You know that too. Is your memory going?

CHARLIE
No, I just like to hear you say them.

VERA
You’re a darling red.

CHARLIE
A darling red.

VERA
Like the sun hitting brown sea glass and casting a shadow.

CHARLIE
That’s a lovely color.

VERA
Or clay right on the edge of the stream.

CHARLIE
The kind you just want to dig your hands into.

VERA
Or the color of the sweater you wore on our second date.

CHARLIE
I don’t remember that sweater.

VERA
I do.

CHARLIE
What do you remember about it?

VERA
You smelled green.

CHARLIE
Green?

VERA
Haven’t I told you this before?

CHARLIE
Tell me again, love.

VERA
Green, like the color of the dew on the grass first thing in the morning.

CHARLIE
I love that time of day.

VERA
Or the color of the turtle I had in third grade.

CHARLIE
Named Sarcoline?

VERA
The turtle named Sarcoline.

CHARLIE
No wonder you liked me.

VERA
I liked you for you, not your colors.

CHARLIE
Do you like my colors too?

VERA
Of course. They make you even more beautiful.

CHARLIE
I love you for you too.

VERA
That makes me feel purple.

CHARLIE
What shade?

VERA
A strong, steady purple.

CHARLIE
Say more.

VERA
The way that waking up next to you feels purple.

CHARLIE
I love that feeling.

VERA
The way that driving with you in my car feels purple.

CHARLIE
Mmm, partners in crime.

VERA
The way that falling in love with you makes the purple feel darker and stronger and warmer.

CHARLIE
Falling in love with you feels like my whole body is getting warmer.

VERA
Exactly!

CHARLIE
Like my whole heart is making room for you. I feel so full.

VERA
The purple is like that.

CHARLIE
I get it.

VERA
You do?

CHARLIE
Of course. It feels safe and strong and warm, and maybe that looks like purple to you.

VERA
Exactly like purple.

CHARLIE
Then I get it.

VERA
I’m glad. It’s such a lovely color.

CHARLIE
It’s a really wonderful feeling too.

(They share a momentary comfortable silence.)

VERA
I wish you could see my colors too.

CHARLIE
I don’t need them.

VERA
But they’re so beautiful.

CHARLIE
I think you’re beautiful anyways.

VERA
You’re just saying that.

CHARLIE
I think you say and do the most beautiful things, and that makes you just right.

VERA
You don’t know what you’re missing.

CHARLIE
I don’t need them. You make me feel warm, I make you feel purple, we work it out.

VERA
You don’t always make me feel purple.

CHARLIE
You don’t always make me feel warm.

VERA
I still love you.

CHARLIE
Good. I’d be worried if you didn’t.

VERA
Don’t be worried. Be happy.

CHARLIE
You make me feel happy too.

VERA
That makes me feel yellow.

CHARLIE
Yellow?

VERA
Yellow.

Leave a Reply

