Waiting to Decay

Sarah Wells describes her piece as “looking at ennui from the perspective of a beam of light. Photons move at, literally, the speed of light and as a result never have a chance to slow down and experience their existence. While this problem is particularly salient for such fast speeds, it’s also an anxiety we deal with at the human pace too.”

 

Waiting to Decay

Sarah Wells

                                                                                  I wonder what it feels like to be finite.
To feel the passage of time,
Glide slowly,
With the warmth and comfort of the sea.

                                                                                                             I wonder what it’s like to age.
To feel pieces of myself fall apart,
Feel sorrow for my breaking;
Feel alive because someday I won’t be.

 

I wonder what it’s like to move slowly.
To have a connection,
Not a collision.
To return to safe havens,
Familiar places,
Instead of continuing on,
Into the roar of the dark.

How I long to decay,
To break apart in a shower of pieces;
To realize that I have pieces,
That I’m made of more
Than a single permanent moment.

Leave a Reply

