Flare

In her first ever Clark Writes submission, Kaitlyn Lindtvedt explores pain and twisted relationships in her poem “Flare.”

rtjr687ecFlare

Kaitlyn Lindtvedt

Mercy me,
I’m eliding –
– Engrossed in my memories-
-Stoking a misery
Loping inside of me.

Don’t
Patronize
The knotted ties to which you cling
When all the world is bleeding
Through your heart.

I depart
Impressionistic, isn’t it?
Satisfying hopeless whims
While soothing scars.
I
Can’t
Follow
Your Path.
I
Can’t
Fall.

Shutting down
Electrifying
Fueling an energy
Spurring my ecstasy
Calling off engagements –

Don’t
Philosophize
The hollow cries with which I sing
As I’m feeding you
A healing heart.
I depart
Emptier than sleepless nights
Full of beggary and heaving sighs
Tantalize
I
Can’t
Trust
The Words You Say.
No
One’s
Ever Meant
The Truth This Time.
I decline.
Rather savor the bleed
Than let you go down on me

Leave a Reply

