A Broad Studying Abroad: “Week One”

One of Clark Writes’ editors, Laura, is studying abroad this semester at the University of East Anglia in Norwich, England. She is still keeping up with the blog, however, and has begun a series detailing her time away from home. Read her first entry below!

After procrastinating packing and being terrified for months, I finally did it. I traveled ‘across the pond’ from America to Norwich, England to attend the University of East Anglia.

The first thing I noticed when I arrived was just how massive the university is. The University of East Anglia is approximately 320 acres of sprawling English countryside, which includes five cafés, a lake, eight residences houses, a bar, a nightclub, and a grocery store. It’s almost a city in itself, especially compared to Clark’s compact campus.

Orientation got off to a bit of a rough start when I realized that UEA’s orientation was much more hands-off than Clark’s. Instead of mandatory lectures and being put in groups where you’re sure to make one or two friends, the University sets up a few ‘strongly-suggested’ events, but you’re expected to learn the campus and culture on your own. At first, the possibility of not meeting anyone was overwhelming, but I managed to meet some people through the Facebook group and meet up for drinks at the pub (I’m still getting used to having a bar on campus!).

Another surprise was the language barrier. Although we both speak English, the slang is still a huge divider. Here’s a cheat sheet of the slang I’ve learned so far:

Pre-Drinking=Pre-Gaming
Queue=Line
Chips=French Fries
Crisps=Potato chips
Uni=University
Sharp=Fancy
Quid=Pound
Flat=Apartment
The States=America

Well, I’m off to the pub with some of my flatmates. Tomorrow, I’ll pop over to the on-campus grocery store to load up on snacks for my next entry.

Cheers!

Laura

Leave a Reply

